Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Fangirl /

by Rowell, Rainbow.
Type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, c2013Edition: First edition.Description: 438 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9781250030955; 1250030951; 9781250030962; 125003096X.Other title: Fan girl.Subject(s): Bildungsromans | College freshmen -- Fiction | Fans (Persons) -- Fiction | College students -- Fiction | Fan fiction -- Fiction | Characters and characteristics in literature -- Fiction | Fathers and daughters -- Fiction | Authorship -- Fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | Twins -- FictionSummary: Cath struggles to survive on her own in her first year of college while avoiding a surly roommate, bonding with a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words, and worrying about her fragile father
Reviews from LibraryThing.com:
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Add tag(s)
Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Young Adult Fiction ROWELL RAINBOW Fangirl Available 32881010815053
New Young Adult Fiction ROWELL, RAINBOW Fangirl Checked out 08/04/2014 32881010650427
Young Adult ROWELL Checked out 09/15/2014 32881010780653
New Young Adult Fiction ROWELL RAINBOW Fangirl Available 32881003624389
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life-and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? Open her heart to someone?Or will she just go on living inside somebody else's fiction?

Cath struggles to survive on her own in her first year of college while avoiding a surly roommate, bonding with a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words, and worrying about her fragile father

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

Cath Avery's life has two polestars: Wren, her identical twin, and the Simon Snow series, a Harry Potter-like publishing phenomenon that Cath has been reading-and rewriting, as a hugely popular fanfiction author-for years. While Cath is an expert on Simon's life, she finds her own difficult, especially now that she's starting college and Wren doesn't want them to room together. Since Cath would rather stay in her room and write than do anything involving other people, that first year is terrifying, which she expected, but also heartbreaking and romantic, which she did not. Rowell (Eleanor & Park) blends Cath's first year of college with excerpts of both the "canon" Simon Snow books and Cath's distinctly non-canonical fanfic, to create a funny and tender coming-of-age story that's also the story of a writer finding her voice. Rowell makes all of Cath's relationships-with her father; Wren; her acerbic roommate, Reagan; and, especially, Reagan's ex Levi (who practically takes up residence in their room to woo the skeptical and extremely nervous Cath)-touching and utterly real. Ages 13-up. Agent: Christopher Schelling, Selectric Artists. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Rowell's follow-up (2013) to the fabulous Eleanor and Park (2013, both St. Martin's Griffin) doesn't disappoint. Cather and Wren are identical twins, both freshmen at the University of Nebraska, who were abandoned by their mother when they were eight, and have been dealing with their loving yet unstable father since then. Though they have shared a bedroom and friends all their lives, they react to college in very different ways. Wren insists on living apart and wants to discover a new life for herself without her twin; she parties obsessively. Cath retreats inward, seldom leaving her room except for classes and throwing herself into writing fan fiction based on the mega-popular "Simon Snow" fantasy series. The story, told from Cath's viewpoint, perfectly portrays the anxiety and nervousness a shy freshman can experience at a large university. Listeners get caught up in Cath's life as she make mistakes, gets her heart broken, and grows from the experience. The audiobook benefits from having two narrators. Rebecca Lowman's (Eleanor in Eleanor and Park) understated delivery is perfect for Cath. British actor Maxwell Caulfield's crisp narration of both Cath's fan fiction and the "Simon Snow" books, which are interspersed with the story, adds dimension to the audiobook. Give this to fans of Harry Potter, realistic fiction, and romance. A must buy for audio collections.-Julie -Paladino, East Chapel Hill High School, NC (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Much of the literary fandoms we see are dominated by bookish girls writing and posting online fan fiction, often romantic in nature and frequently featuring gay, nontraditional relationships. But this is Cath's world. Her fandom is the Simon Snow series. Simon is a Harry Potter-like figure who battles vampires and the Humdrum, a creature bent on ridding the world of magic. Devotees by the thousands read Cath's two-year-long opus Carry On, a piece she's determined to complete before the release of the final installment of the series. However, life has intervened: she's starting college with her twin sister, Wren, who has demanded separate dorm rooms so they could both meet new people. An awakening unfolds, as Cath battles loneliness, her father's mental illness, a new writing class, and feelings for her dorm mate's friendly part-time boyfriend. This is an epic writ small; the magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships. The internal lives of the characters are so well developed that it is almost surprising to remember that Rowell is writing in third person. Fans of Eleanor & Park (2013) and other novels about, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own.--Jones, Courtney Copyright 2010 Booklist

Author notes provided by Syndetics

Rainbow Rowell's adult debut, Attachments, was published in 2011. Her other books include Landline, Eleanor and Park, and Fangirl. (Bowker Author Biography)

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

Powered by Koha